Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Photorealism

joahun
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
joahun polycounter lvl 4
Hi!

I am new to this forum so sorry if I post in the wrong section.

I have been using 3ds max for 10 years on and off as my hobby. I got into it again recently and made a little scene.
My goal is to make this lego figure as realistic as possible. Any suggestion and opinion is welcome but please keep in mind I'm kind of a beginer.
Thanks for the help! 

Replies

• Noren
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Noren polycounter lvl 19
    Check the smoothinggroups/topology of your wall stones. A slight warping isn't a bad thing for realism, but they look like the flat faces all equally have a small influence from the neighboring faces.
  • joahun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    joahun polycounter lvl 4
    Hey Thanks! Definitely gonna look into it. I usually just hit Auto Smooth so now every face is on a different group but gonna fiddle around with it. Thanks again for the tip!
  • Klunk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Klunk ngon master
    you need to improve your lego brick laying ;)
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    Apart from the structurally dubious wall I would say you should make the scene more interesting. As it is it has no story. Flesh out the scene, give it some purpose or context. Your modeling, shading, and lighting is all in place and looking pretty decent, so now you can concentrate on pushing the scene further.
  • Octo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Octo polycounter lvl 18
    The lack of contact shadows isn't helping...is there even a floor?
  • joahun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    joahun polycounter lvl 4
    Klunk said:
    you need to improve your lego brick laying ;)
    Haha don't worry, going to fix that wall! Thank you!
  • joahun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    joahun polycounter lvl 4