Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My First Texturing - Please Critique

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
TROGLODYTE polycounter lvl 6
It's rough and nothing really special (I'm a better painter than currently a texturer) but it is my first serious attempt at texturing (mainly because I finally figured out a working ZBrush-to-Maya workflow pieced together from all the online workflows that IMO often contradict each other or throw in some 3rd party software) and I'm looking for ANY critique and suggestions anyway.

I'm a concept artist/illustrator by trade and so I've been studying modeling and topology little by little for the past two years, finally breaking into texturing.  I own ZBrush 4R8, MayaLT and full version of Maya2013 and AdobeCC of course.  No money or time for Substance Painter or Marmoset or any others right now.  Also don't currently have the luxury to grab and learn a 3D engine to test stuff....time is scarce.  I placed shell seams where I knew I could safely make texture breaks without looking "wrong" like between the green part of the visor and the tan part where scratches meet.

Lo Poly: 727
Hi Poly: 2.25 mil

Known issues with this mesh:
There are a few incongruencies in the texture transferring to the hi poly from the lo poly UV throughout, where I'm guessing the low poly is too low (I'm still learning about when lo poly is too low). There is one triangle between the left ear and visor on the lo poly.

My Current Workflow:
I start off with hipoly in ZBrush 4R8, then export obj to MayaLT for lo poly retopology (sometimes ZBrush retopology, I like both) and unwrap UVs in MayaLT, then I bring retopologized mesh back into Zbrush and project original hipoly detail onto hipoly subD model (end up with half the polys in subD mesh),  export subD hipoly back to MayaLT, transfer UV from lopoly mesh to hipoly subD, then photoshop for texture painting.  AM I DOING THIS WRONG?

My biggest hangups and problems: