Home Technical Talk

Why game studios prefer use Max instead Maya?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
marco_3D_artist polycounter lvl 5
I'm an environment and Prop artist and I use Maya for modeling and UV and I don't understand why some studio prefer Max, is just for modeling tools or something else?

Replies

• oglu
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    In most cases its the pipeline in the studio. The first lead was a max user. The studio grows and they build a team around it. To build a game you need more than just modeling tools. Thats only a small part. 
  • Neox
    Offline / Send Message
    Neox veteran polycounter
    really is that still the case? for my perspective, pretty much all the bigger projects are maya based by now.
    maybe its just our specific bubble, but as a (originally) max house, this certainly changed hard in the past 5-10 years
  • Eric Chadwick
    Maya leads, at least in our informal Polycount poll.
    Poll: Main 3D Modeling Software
  • musashidan
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    Yeah, it's been a few years since Max was top dog in games studios, seems that Maya has tipped the balance over the years.
  • marco_3D_artist
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you, everybody, for the answer!! 
  • Nars
    Offline / Send Message
    Nars polycounter lvl 6
    It's up to each individual studio, at my work its mostly maya users, and im the only max one with a bit of maya knowledge.
    But in general its the same answer as with "Why Max/maya more used than others?", it's just the tools and pipeline already in set.
    Moving to another package takes artist's time + tools creation time + more error prone, so studios usually stick to what they know/have.
  • Mark Dygert
    Yeah, it's been a few years since Max was top dog in games studios, seems that Maya has tipped the balance over the years.