Home Technical Talk

Dynamesh too heavy in lowest value because of larger scene

sushan_duke
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
sushan_duke polycounter lvl 3
Hello there,

I'm quite new to zbrush. I realized that my scene in zbrush (humanoid character) is quite large. This is giving me an issue that whenever I use the dynamesh even at the lowest value the mesh just gets too much heavy. Is there any way to get a lower polycount at dynamesh by maintaining the same scene size?

Thanks!

Replies

• gvii
    Offline / Send Message
    gvii polycounter lvl 10
    Try using Dynamesh Master plugin. It resizes the mesh dynamically to best size before applying dynamesh, and spits back the mesh at the previos size with the dynamesh result aplied. But I think this got fixed in newer versions of zbrush, though I'm not super sure.
  • cryrid
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    You can also try to use the Gizmo's "Remesh By Dynamesh" option, which lets you specify a target polycount for the Dynamesh (between 5000-1000000). 
  • musashidan
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    The other option(and what I've moved onto since DM master) is Ryan Kittleson's very useful and free Zbrush tools. There is a really nive DM workflow in it.

Just search his name and gumroad
  • kanga
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage
    I think Dynamesh is dependent on size. To get a workable polycount range you just have to bring the model down to a useful size for zBrush. Im not sure how your scene/model is setup in zBrush, but if it is made up of separate subtools, combine them, then go to the deform menu (under tools) and hit unify. That will scale the model to a size that will give you the best range for all zB tools and operations. If needed then use polygroups to split the model back into separate subtools once again.