Home Technical Talk

Ballpark Triangle Figures for Strategy games?

Hello lovely people, this is my first post here. I'm an aspiring developer with a variety of prior experience, but it's been about 6-8 years since i last did 3D art for a game, in some Civ IV mods. Since then i've been a little out of touch and mostly focusing on coding.

Currently, I am interested in making a strategy game in unreal engine. I won't bore you with too many details, but i'm planning to do most of the work myself, art included. I'm brushing the dust off my old talents and firing up the latest version of blender, and I've realised I don't really have targets for performance yet.

I'm interested in making unit models with around the same detail level as the Total War series,  examples:

I'm posting on polycount because I found this place while trying to google performance stats for the latest Total War Warhammer game, (along with a nice thread where various artists were posting their official work, it was lovely!)

I flatter myself thinking i can emulate that quality, but I'll do my best. I need some ideas on targets though. That is, polycounts, and texture sizes. I'm used to working within tight limits, and I need to set such limits for myself so i don't run away spending a million triangles on an exquisitely sculpted nose or somesuch. But these days i have no idea what modern computers are capable of

So my question is:
For an average human figure, in armor or clothing, viewed from a sort of isometric perspective and in the context of a strategy game developed for modern gaming PCs:
What's a good target for his polycount (in triangles) and resolution for textures, normal maps, glow, gloss, etc.

Once I have target values for humanoids, I can use that as a baseline for performance targets for other things (like guys on horseback)
Any posts and thoughts are appreciated

Replies

• poopipe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    poopipe grand marshal polycounter