Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Western pistol critique

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
VanZark polycounter lvl 3
Self taught 3D artist currently working on my portfolio. My newest addition is a western style pistol 

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/w8m0oX

Please give me any feedback you can and don’t worry about holding back. Really looking to grow and get better as an artist.

thanks for your time! 

Replies

• Zi0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zi0 polycounter
    The model is very simple and the texture is very basic, you need to challenge yourself more to hit a higher quality level.
    Look at other artist that made revolvers for inspiration

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/1mLbo
    https://www.artstation.com/artwork/1DQWo

This guy has a breakdown of his process: https://80.lv/articles/modeling-a-smithwesson-686-revolver/

• Shrike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator
    the model and the UV looks mostly fine but you should look into the normal map baking workflow, which is essential for game modelling
    There are many good resources for this, also on the polycount wiki   

The texture needs much work, try look at other good textures, add some edge definition which is key for a good texture, and heavily reduce the big normal / bump map dents, otherwise just pump out more and you'll get there
  • Aydhe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Aydhe polycounter lvl 5
    Modelling & Bake
    Model is very simple and ii many areas shading behaves a bit weirdly as well as certain parts just seem to be misaligned. For example part where the hammer hits seems to have completely different edge finish from the barrel magazine. As well as the area where the handle meets the receiver.

The hammer itself does seem to have rather weird shape that's not well defined.