Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

General noob modeling and texturing - critique welcome!

Daniel91
triangle
Offline / Send Message
Daniel91 triangle
Hi guys and girls,

I'v been making a few game assets, im hoping to get them into dayz standalone if i can work out how.

This is my first time 'successfully' making a low poly and baking down textures to it, they arent amazing, but I learned a lot doing it.

will be adding more as I go,

Replies

• rexo12
    Offline / Send Message
    rexo12 interpolator
    Some wireframes and polycounts for both would be nice to better evaluate them, that said though:

First model looks fine, i think you need to think a bit more about where the rust/wear is placed. The sections on the top are good, reads like rust drip from the rebar inside/on top. However maybe more edge wear to match the wearing in the center would be good to improve the overall read? 

The fence, however, i think needs a lot more work. The poles just look like deformed hunks of metal, and i think the shading is a bit poor in places. Do you mind posting a picture of your high and low poly wireframes?

The feet also make the fence look very easy to topple over, which may be what you want, but most portable fences use some kind of sand/water bag feet to keep it steady, like so: Image result for portable security fence

Good work, baking can be very confusing and first attempts often go wrong, so this is a nice result. Keep it up!
  • Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    this thread may be helpful:

there is a well written tutorial in there for arma 3. Not sure how similar that is to DayZ standalone, but man... it's not so easy getting shit into arma. I tried briefly but gave up on it.

Good luck. Let us see you blow that stuff up in engine when you get there.
  • Daniel91
    Offline / Send Message
    Daniel91 triangle
    rexo12 said: