Home Technical Talk

Topology standards for hard surface modeling?

Elarionus
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Elarionus polycounter lvl 3
I learned quite a bit about topology of models during school, but I wanted to try and push it a bit further, to make sure that I'm working both as efficiently as possible, and to a standard that the industry will accept when I graduate. I've found lots of reference on the polycount wiki for organic models, and I learned quite a bit about that, but I'm primarily a hard surface modeler. I do have an advantage with that, because the shape of objects generally lends itself to the topology. But for rules about triangles, n-gons, and quads across surfaces, I want to dive deeper. I thought I knew the rules, until I watched Senechal and Frick model, and noticed that they use N-Gons all the time, making things that just look like "improper" meshes to me, but it turns out amazing, and most of all, it works.

I just want to learn more about why these things work at certain times, why they don't, and how I can make sure my model turns out great with no shading artifacts, a good polycount, and a delicious topology. I've browsed through youtube, and found some okay things in there, but a lot of contradictions as well. Are there any resources that some people have found to help with learning the ins and outs of the more technical side of modeling/topology?

Replies

• sacboi
    Offline / Send Message
    sacboi high dynamic range

"Any topology or wireframe that achieves your goals, is a good topology. Always consider what you are trying to achieve and time and resources you have."  - Ali Ismail

An ethos I've followed for quite some time and sure considering the amount of material available online nowadays there may at first seem to be a broad difference of approach but really the art of topology can be best summed up as primarily testing for yourself whether it works or not for what you have in mind.

Theory and Fundamentals