Home Technical Talk

How would I go about sculpting this jungle branch in zbrush?

Hi. I'm just starting to learn zbrush so only know the basics. I came across this picture and thought I would try and recreate it. I was wondering what would be the best way to go about sculpting this branch the parrots are perched on?

I want the final result to look as close as possible to the reference picture. If you could offer me advice on the process, examples of brushes, alphas or other techniques I could use to do it, that would be great.

Thanks for your time!

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    I wouldn't sculpt that. I'd use fin and shells technique (Google Ryse moss tutirial) for moss on a cylinder and alpha cards for hanging moss.
  • m4dcow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    m4dcow interpolator
    If you really want to try to do this all with zBrush I would suggest checking out fibermesh (especially for the hanging moss).
    However I agree with @BIGTIMEMASTER that it would be easier not to sculpt this and look into other techniques.
  • frankthetank007
    Thank you for the replies, I really appreciate it.

I should probably explain I am not looking to do a game asset, but a high poly render in blender.

I wouldn't sculpt that. I'd use fin and shells technique (Google Ryse moss tutirial) for moss on a cylinder and alpha cards for hanging moss.
    I just googled what you said. Was an interesting read, thank you. It doesn't look exactly like I want but I will definitely try to do it that way if I can't get the look I want. I love in the reference pic the way the leaves / moss sticks out and appears to have volume to it, if you get me?

m4dcow said:
    If you really want to try to do this all with zBrush I would suggest checking out fibermesh (especially for the hanging moss).
    However I agree with @BIGTIMEMASTER that it would be easier not to sculpt this and look into other techniques.