Home Career & Education

is there a grand syllabus of things self taught 3d artists should go through?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
oraeles77 polycounter lvl 7
this may sound vague or 'how long is a piece of string'

just wondering if there is a website somewhere which lists in all the things you should learn.

rather than focusing on software preferences, Im interested in actual universal techniques we should know about.

for example, I have spent the last year focusing on hard surface modelling. Yesterday someone suggested I look at UV straightening, which was a concept completely new to me. I was aware of some of the aspects of it but I didnt realise that it was a thing, someone else mentioned hard edges, which is something I use when making high poly models but again I learnt it from watching livestreams and I didnt know it was called that.

other example of something I just found out about is greeble,

so rather than randomly discovering things to learn about i think a list of things in order, would be ideal.

I don't think the polycount wiki covers this.

any suggestions?

Replies

• arnov
    Offline / Send Message
    arnov polycounter lvl 6
    I don't think there's anything like it (but wouldnt mind to be proven wrong). It also depends what you want to do, different models require different approach.
    I'm pretty sure if you follow some beginner friendly tutorials (from modelling to texturing) then those concepts should naturally be explained.

This is a great example  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z9wgKy-F1Rw
  • Alex_J
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    stop looking for people to tell you what to do, and learn how to figure things out on your own. This is what's going to make you more valuable than others who won't.