Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Horse Game Res

node
Offline / Send Message
DanNC node
Working on making a versatile horse model for work. Still figuring out hair cards, but this is probably my best attempt yet.

The model will have multiple blend shapes and textures to suit various horse types. It will ultimately be used in an iOS app for horse fitness/health.

I'd appreciate any critiques/advice!

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    Good looking muscles and textures. I do think the long bone -- probably the femur but i'm not sure -- of the rear legs under the stifle shouldn't have such a concave curve. I am no horse expert, but that area struck me as odd so I pulled up some reference and what I am mostly seeing is that should be straighter or perhaps bulging in the opposite direction (looks like a thin muscle running over top of it that varies in size between breed and individuals). 

Not saying I am right and you are wrong, but maybe warrants some more investigation.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    @Caiterade calling in an expert.

• DanNC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DanNC node
    Good looking muscles and textures. I do think the long bone -- probably the femur but i'm not sure -- of the rear legs under the stifle shouldn't have such a concave curve. I am no horse expert, but that area struck me as odd so I pulled up some reference and what I am mostly seeing is that should be straighter or perhaps bulging in the opposite direction (looks like a thin muscle running over top of it that varies in size between breed and individuals). 

Not saying I am right and you are wrong, but maybe warrants some more investigation.