Home Technical Talk

Professional Sports cars modeling

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
I'm really interested in modeling sports vehicles. I'm currently using Blender3D and it's been a week since i started learning RhinoCeros 3D(just for this purpos). Problem is that I find it quite difficult to maintain clean reflections while I'm using Blender (talking about using polys and subD method) considering how the reflictions should pass from a panel to the other without difference in refliction and so on. But along my journy of trying to achieve this goal I realized that I've been trying to do alot of troubleshooting with the body's refliction(maintaining reflictions across panels) more than modeling the body itself. It really feels like I'm using the wrong tool, then I decided to learn a software more specified towards vehicle modeling . Google made me come to the conclusion that Rhino is the way to go, but ever since I started learning it I realized that it's really difficult to find learning sources for it (currently I'm using Lab Manual 1 & 2 found on the official website to learn), plus every detail is kinda pain in the ass to model. It took me like 4 tries to get creases on a door right(only door, didn't even model the whole car).

I know I maybe sound like whining too much, but I need help from professionals to tell me which is the more of a right tool + what sources would be best to help me learn Rhino(if this is your choice of the right tool).
What sources could help me in modeling cars generally in subD method.

Another question, on Artstation I find alot of great car models, but they are most likely modeled in Max or Maya. Does it really matter? I mean does those softwares have more options and functions that help get better results than Blender?

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message