Home Marmoset

Baking by mesh name, but not for Ambient Occlusion?

Elarionus
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Elarionus polycounter lvl 3
I'm still learning about exploding meshes and color IDs, but I think there's a way to avoid the exploding part now at least....

So I remember seeing this feature in Substance Painter, and I know I saw it in Marmoset's documentation. I was curious though, how can I set up my mesh to do that, and then utilize that feature in Marmoset? I understand the naming conventions, of having "barrel_low" and "barrel_high", but for exporting out of 3DS Max, how does that look? My best guess from the research I've done so far is that I select all of the meshes of _low, and then add a UV map to those combined meshes, pack the maps, and then "export selected" from Max, so that it's one FBX file, with one UV set, but with multiple meshes...and same for the _high, minus the UV section?

And once I figure out how to bake certain parts by mesh name, is there a way I can bake every other map by mesh name, but then bake the Ambient Occlusion across the entire mesh? Thanks so much!

Replies

• EarthQuake
    To use name matching, simply name your high and low poly meshes appropriately, and then load the meshes via the Quick Loader in the Baker object properties (the Load button inside the Quick Loader tab).

As for exporting out of Max, there shouldn't be anything special you need to do. Just make sure you're only exporting the meshes you need. If you have meshes in these scene you don't intend to export, export selected is probably the best way to do it.

To get AO to bake from group to group, go to the AO Settings (gear icon next to AO output), and turn on Ignore Groups.