Home Technical Talk

[SOLVED] Maya, distorted uv after scaling

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
goekbenjamin polycounter lvl 6
Hey!
I am new to maya, but i watch alot tutorials here and there, but i coulnd makes thinks clear about that:

When i add a primitive cube and look at the uv i see this:

now say i want to have "flat box", so i scale the box in one axis, 
when i do so, the initial UV get squished together because of scaling the mesh:

i thought, no problem i will use the "Layout UV" but without luck....
do i have to eye-balling the scaling of the uv on the edge in the red circle?
Am i missing something crucial?

Replies

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    You could use unfold on the UVs. But first you would need to use 'freeze transformations' under 'Modify' to reset the scale on the transform. 
  • RS7
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RS7 polycounter lvl 3
    Under the tool menu, move settings tab there is "preserve UVs" tickbox. Enable this, select vertex and move or scale. UV should follow the shape of the object. Somewhat. But overall, as a rule of thumb, you should do your UV's as a last step, when you have your final model done. If you nee to make major changes to the model, you need to UV the entire thing again.  At least the changed part. Use planar map - cut edges - unfold or any other basic UV method.

I don't think i've seen this dynamic UV scaling feature in any 3D package before. It would be a nice feature, tho
  • goekbenjamin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    goekbenjamin polycounter lvl 6
    You could use unfold on the UVs. But first you would need to use 'freeze transformations' under 'Modify' to reset the scale on the transform. 
    okayyyyy, "freeze transformations" and afterwards unfold again does indeed worked!