Home Technical Talk

Map baking research and things i could not figure out

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
CanberkYucekok polycounter lvl 4
Hi everyone, i am new to this forum even though i have been in and out of topic in here through google search for quite a time, i dont know why it took me so long to register after all (i assume desperation); well anyways i'm here; so hello :smile:

I want to cut short and be on point as much as i can.

My problem is that: i have been doing cgi related stuff for 3 years, and i am very dedicated about it and has been the focus point of my life ever since, i think i had the grasp of most of the things i had studied and trained my self about it through the things i learned online, since i did my major about something completely unrelated. So; at this point of my life, i decided to up my projects a little and really focus on creating models that i can show case in my portfolio, i started modelling a car and i have finished the most of it. Here is a snapshot:

This is a test render i took with Arnold in Maya. Now i want to texture this model in Substance Painter and optimize it every aspects. But even though i had watched many tutorials about map baking principles, theory and workflows in various resources. I have watched Allegorithmic's tutorials, and other extensive tutorials about map baking and i already had some theoretical information about the subject. However, my results are very off from what is expected.  But i guess i am having trouble about some principle things about map baking and i guess there are some personal things that i overlook and could not get the grasp on. I duplicate the workflows of some people i watch online with very simplistic models i created but even then i fail. Believe me i feel stuck, untalented and foolish. So decided to note down what i realize to raise up in my mind through my process.