Home Technical Talk

[discussion] if you were asked to make a small brick wall what would be your workflow?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
oraeles77 polycounter lvl 7
I was just wondering, for example if you were asked to make a brick wall, like this...

to whatever standards you usually work to, with the software you usually use, how would you do it? As a game object, but a nice looking 'AAA' sort of one, which doesnt look like a box from a playstation 1 game.

(im not a professional!)

a few years ago I would have made a box in Sketchup and applied a brick texture and then proudly said 'done' but now Im trying to take things more seriously, for myself I would think I would make the wall shape in Blender, then apply a texture to it, to make sure everything is scaled correctly, then export it to Substance Designer, where I would do a proper brick pattern and add all the weathering and dirt etc.

I asked a friend, they said (in blender) they would make several bricks using a Sub surf, array them, like normal bricks, then add something to resemble the mortar, make a low poly and then export/bake etc. Is that a little over the top?

Replies

• Alex_J
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
    Looks like a rectangle with a material on it to me. Do you know how to Substance Designer? Almost every Substance Designer 101 tutorial starts with making bricks. That's where I'd start, then I'd learn how to make moss/vine materials, and then learn how to do vertex painting and material blending based on different channels in Unreal. That way you can use the height channel to make your  moss grow in the cracks, etc. If I wanted to get real fancy, I'd make  sure the material had a displacement channel so I could use that if possible.

That would be probably a month or more of learning, but once you know how to do those things you can do a whole lot more.
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message