Home Technical Talk

using roughness/gloss maps with PhongE or Phong shaders in Maya

First time poster, but I've lurked for a while and found many helpful tips here.  Now for the Maya question.

I've just started doing some game modding, but due to limitations with the mod tool, only FBX models are accepted.  Unfortunately, I can't get any PBR stuff to export (or appear in game) so it looks like the only shaders (so far) the mod tool accepts are basic ones like Blinn, Lambert, Phong and PhongE (I'm new to all of this but as I understand it, most engines need some sort of interface to translate the 3D editor stuff to the game engine).  I've found places for the specular map, normal and diffuse map in the Phong shaders but how can I apply the roughness/gloss map?  Based on research, it looks like the roughness map goes into the cosine node on a Phong shader and the "highlight" node on the PhongE?  Do I need to place any node between those two?  Thanks for any help and I apologize for the lack of clarity (still learning all this).

[a more general question: can basic shaders like PhongE be made to accept more complex PBR maps?]

Replies

• fmnoor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fmnoor polycounter lvl 17
    The short answer is the phong material in Maya is not only not physically based, those maps are also probably made for a different specular model ( most engines have adopted a different specular BRDF ).

If you have a newer version of Maya, you can use the directX11 plugin and AutodeskUberShader ( https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/maya/learn-explore/caas/CloudHelp/cloudhelp/2015/ENU/Maya/files/GUID-21D2A020-EC76-4679-B38A-D5270CE52566-htm.html ). You should still be able to export the mesh as an FBX just fine, however.

• sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    which game are you modding? 
  • mouse_marple
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fmnoor said: