Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio Review] 2D Concept - what do you think?

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Undercurrent32 triangle
https://lukaskuhn.artstation.com/albums/85791

Hello everyone! Still pretty new to the site but I hope its fine for me to ask for tips here!

At the beginning of 2018 I graduated from my bachelors and as of recent my job search was not very fruitful- most studios weren't looking for a Junior Artist or with the one that did, I got passed up. So now I of course obsess about how to polish my portfolio some more for the next time :)

I've been working in a vacuum for the most part and could really use some input as Im struggling to see what to work on from here going forward.

My personal hunches are that I just have way too many pieces in my portfolio, especially considering many of them are projects but I have a hard time deciding with which to part.
I try to keep original design ideas and avoid the 'castle on hill' stuff though Im starting to think that might sell better in the end?
Other than that I hope to keep a healthy balance of environments and props with some wips, sketches, variations and 3D. A character or two where I felt they turned out really well.

Anyway, those are my thoughts. I might be totally off. What do you think? Maybe something really vital is actually missing from this? A big heartfelt thank you for any response!

Replies

• carvuliero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character
    Hey there ,

You have pretty good stuff out there , you shouldn't be without a job for long , probably they didn't look for concept artist at this moment 
    I have 2 general and 2 specific suggestions :
    General :
    You have good enough stuff to not say to everyone that you just graduated ,if they ask you its ok but don't start with that
    I wish you have a high res images on your portfolio even when zoom in they are still small so to see details
    Specific :