Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Sea Giant

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
anathen polycounter lvl 8
Hey everyone!
Here is a new creature I'm working on in my free time, would love to hear opinions and critiques :)

Replies

• CarlCraft
    Offline / Send Message
    CarlCraft polycounter lvl 9
    Cool stuff. I'm by no means a character artist but I'd say the horns feel a little out of place. Are you working from a concept? Can you post it?
  • Skinner3D
    Offline / Send Message
    Skinner3D polycounter lvl 5
    The sea moon is falling? The moon is sinking into the sea? :D Is there a trident mask involved? :D:D:D sorry couldn't help myself.

Agreed with CarlCraft, reference would be nice. Or your concept sketches. Or if you are making this up on the fly, some of the images with elements that you want to include.
    The texture on this is going to make a huge difference. I could see this thing as any number of elemental/themed giants, because the spikes are kind of ambiguous. 
  • anathen
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for the answers!

CarlCraft I agree with the horns being a bit strange, I will replace them!
    Skinner3D  I didn't quite get the sea moon falling reference lol 

As for the concept I made this moodboard after finished the early base, I was pretty much free sculpting and little by little moved towards some sea/swamp giant.
    I'm thinking about adding corals and sea fauna on his back and elbows , some fish scales for texture , a sumo fighter's cloth and perhaps a weapon but I'm not entirely sure he needs one.
    Let me know what you think!
  • Skinner3D
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah, adding sea elements would help. He reminds me of a forest creature more than anything right now.

My first thought when I saw your model was the giants in Majoras Mask. They keep the moon from crashing into the world. Was trying to throw a water spin on that.

• anathen
    Offline / Send Message