Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Stephanie Nieves

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Undertopian polycounter lvl 6
Hello everyone, I am a prop and environment artist wanting to improve my skills. Critiques are encouraged!
----
Edit: I merged the original first post into the one below and will be using this space for some quick navigation between projects.

Current Project: Duncan's Room [retro futurism inspired concept]
[Jump to latest post]

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Biomodem - Handpainted Prop
[Start Here] [Final Post] [ArtStation]

Noir Apartment (Household Props Challenge) - UE4 Environment
[Start Here] [Final Post] [ArtStation]

Replies

• Undertopian
    Offline / Send Message
    My previous projects were handpainted, and I'm looking to continue that trend. Here is what I've recently completed in late November as an example of my current level of skill.

This month's current project is a little more ambitious than a low poly prop; I'd like to try to create a higher poly hero prop while still sticking to using handpainted textures.

The concept I'll be referencing is by Simon Stalenhag, along with some reference pics of a USRobotics Modem

At this stage, I have finished my high res model. The organic part was sculpted in Blender, and the modem was modeled in Maya.

----
    Tweaked the high res a bit more. Here are some fancier beauty shots of it.

• Undertopian
    Offline / Send Message
    Created the game res version and baked out an AO and Normal. Here's a snapshot of the WIP:

[Edit: I've rendered out better quality screenshots of the game mesh and fixed a few minor things that were bugging me in the initial bake]

• NTakasato
    Offline / Send Message
    NTakasato polycounter lvl 2
    Love how this Simon Stalenhag piece is coming along, you picked a great concept and are capturing the details very nicely. Looking forward to seeing the results.
  • Undertopian