Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Emerging Character Artist Portfolio Critique

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
specsowl polycounter lvl 6
Hey there polycount, I'm hoping you can help me out. 
I've been working in the toy industry since 2014 and I'm looking to transition into the games industry. I've applied to several places in Austin, where I'm moving, and no luck yet. My portfolio, whether it's lack of breakdowns or simply quality of the pieces is bad, is causing me to really question how I'm approaching my work or what I'm doing wrong. I'm looking to get into stylized work as well. 

Here's my portfolio : https://www.ryanchapmanart.com/

Just let me have it and I'll work on improving. I also have some newish work I'm doing that I'm not even sure I should be continuing until I get some more feedback. 

Thanks! 

Replies

• JohnnyTheKid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JohnnyTheKid polycounter lvl 9
    Hey man, 
    just a few thoughts... I hope you dont get me wrong. I dont want to be rude, just honest. :)  Imagine I am a recruiter for games.

- The first thing I see is NOT game art
    - the second thing I see is actual gameart - actually your best work in my opinion
    - then again, no gameart..atleast it doesnt look like that
    - next, game art but imho less appealing as the first game art - your portfolio is only as strong as your weakest piece
    - and no gameart again

what i am trying to say is: If you apply for a character artist position in games - immediately make clear you ARE a character artist for games. Show me right away when I open your portfolio. Show me characters, wireframes, textures.

If I was you, I would:
    - completely switch to artstation (nobody likes wix :P )
    - delete everything except the Carla piece
    - work on another realtime-character 

again, just my humble opinion. Keep going man :)
  • specsowl
    Options
    Offline / Send Message