Home Contests & Challenges Archives Riot Creative Contest 2017 Riot Creative Contest 2017 - Narrative

[COMPLETE] A Type of Liberation

BramStoker
null
The great diversity of nations and factions in Runeterra provides fertile soil for exploring a variety of topics. In short, my writing is full of social commentary and political interpretations of "Dracula", which, I think, go quite well together. I will elaborate on some of the ideas I put into the story in my next post.

I hope my submission is a fun read. Enjoy!

Replies

• BramStoker
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BramStoker null
    Disclaimer: I am a maths graduate, so my attempts at analyzing classics are layman at best.

The below is my explanation of why I saw Vlad as fitting for this type of plot. I have too much fun analyzing Noxian society in my free time.

[spoiler]One of my favorite short stories is "Pierre Menard, author of Don Quixote" by Borges. It's a short read, but it will change your perception of fiction. Borges asks: What if Don Quixote was written today? Assuming no changes to the work, how would a different historical setting for the novel's inception change its meaning? How would a different author change the way we analyze the text? Will we find it relevant to the philosophical problems of today? He suggest a fun game which examines how we see the relationship between author, era and work, which can enrich the experience of reading many classics.