Home Contests & Challenges Archives Riot Creative Contest 2017 Riot Creative Contest 2017 - VFX

[Riot Creative Contest 2017] - Nalmoth

null
Offline / Send Message
Nalmoth null
Hello !

This is my thread for my VFX entry. I'm gonna work on some nuclear stuff, with an automated missile as my projectile, and a radiation status effect ! On this project, i'll be more onto semi-realistic VFX than fully stylized.

I'm currently a student, and I'm pretty new to the Polycount community, even if I read a lot of articles and threads :p

Here are my references :

Good luck and have fun !

Replies

• Nalmoth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nalmoth null
    - Update 27/11 -

In the past few days, I worked on the motion of my missile, and on the shader that I'll use for the explosion. Here are some gifs : 

The particles are not definitive, and are only here to symbolise the motion. I had to tweak a lot the animator curves to have something decent. I think I'm gonna do more tests to find the perfect motion. I want something dynamic and fast, not the so classical and slow "nuclear missile".

I used Shaderforge here. This shader was quite simple to make, but it's not optimized for now. I will mainly use it for the final explosion, with a mesh who will dissolve.
    There is a blend of vertex offset for more randomness, and some classical noises textures.

Here's a look at the shader tree.

That's all for now ! I think I'm gonna use a Houdini approach for the smoke trail of the missile, and I will create some more stylized textures and particles for the UI elements, like the horizontal billboards around the launching sphere.

Thanks for reading ! :smile:
  • Nalmoth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nalmoth null
    - Update 15/01 -

I'ts been a long time since I posted some content. After finishing some school projects and others game jams, I'm back in the game !