Home Contests & Challenges Archives Riot Creative Contest 2017 Riot Creative Contest 2017 - Environment Art

[Riot Creative Contest 2017] - Rob Killick - Void Towers and Jackalope Warrens

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Robuscus polycounter lvl 3
First time entering a Riot based competition! Super excited!  I've been playing the game for a few years now and I'm a big fan.  I am currently studying at Gnomon in LA which doesn't give me a whole lot of free time but I really hope I can create something cool for this.  Look forward to seeing everyone's work.  Good luck!

Replies

• Robuscus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So for the hard surface part of the challenge I am going to go with a Void style turret.  I will be combining the imagery for Icathia with the style of the Void champions.  I figured Icathia would be a good choice for the base architecture of the tower because in the lore it is the closest city to the potential entry place to the barrier between the void dimension and Runeterra.  Because of its proximity to Shurima and the brief description on the LOL lore I am basing the tower construction on ancient Egyptian and ancient Middle Eastern architecture.

First round of reference images mostly just breaking down the preexisting style of the Void characters in LOL.  Ill probably put together some rough sketches next or move into some loose 3D concepts.

For the Creep Den I am thinking of going for a Jackalope warren.  I like the idea of the red Brambleback being a guardian for a family of Jackalopes.  I haven't done any organic style environments like this before so I really look forward to the challenge :)

• Robuscus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Finally found a little time to work on some concepts.  I will be getting on with some block-out and sculpting soon! not long left of the competition now but I still have a bit of time yet!
  • Robuscus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message