Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio critique and help needed

Will morillas
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Will morillas polycounter lvl 8
Hi! I'm a self-taught student wanting to be a 3d character artist.

I've been searching the forums for a long time and it seems that character artist positions are usually really hard to get so i want some advices to land a job in the industry

Here is my portfolio:
http://willmorillas.carbonmade.com/

Replies

• Lucas Annunziata
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lucas Annunziata polycounter lvl 13
    To become a character artist, you need to prove that you have a really solid understanding of human anatomy, polygon flow/distribution for character animation, and optimal UV packing skills.

Your portfolio does not currently exemplify any of these things. Your first three pieces are either non-human, or almost fully covered in bulky armor. Bulky armor isn't necessarily a bad thing but it looks like you're trying to hide the lack of anatomy understanding rather than being informed by it for the armor design.

Definitely show off some renders of your high-poly sculpts, some better wireframe shots, texture flats etc.

This new character is definitely a step in the right direction.
  • beefaroni
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    beefaroni sublime tool
    Hmm. I can't comment on characters but your website is off to a great start. My only suggestion.

When I click on the warrior. It should just show two images that scale with the page size. Having to click a second time once I'm on that page is a bit of a waste of time. It's super nitpicky but I think it will make your website a better experience.
  • Will morillas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Will morillas polycounter lvl 8
    I'm reviving this thread becaise I've changed all the characters in my portfolio and still need some advices

Thank you
  • jth852
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jth852 polycounter lvl 2