Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Been working on an ice shader; looking for feedback

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Ali_Youssef polycounter lvl 6
Edit: Final shader:

Greetings polys, as the title says I want to improve on the following ice shader:

And here it is animated for clearer parallax and SS effects (apologies for the huge gif size):

I was trying to achieve convincing cracks in the ice and give it depth, this is my main reference:

I would really love some feedback to improve on this shader as it's my first time doing something more complicated than 3 texture samples plugged into their respective slots.
I'm also interested if this sort of thing is worth popping on the portfolio after it's done, or is it better to only have finished environments (this will probably be included in a scene... eventually)

I will now talk about the process I used, and I like to talk a lot, so feel free to skip the next reply if you're not interested, otherwise would love some notes on fixing/improving it.

TL;DR: Ice good ? how can better ?

Replies

• Ali_Youssef
    Offline / Send Message
    So here's the graph in Unreal:

So the parallax is a custom parallax function (except that it isn't) that uses the crack map (exported from SD) to create a gradient depth mask that lightens and tints the ice under the cracks; so basically creates an "edge" for each crack "chunk".
    I tried to use POM but it doesn't seem to support gradually fading the mask out, which helps sell the depth.
    Also it's probably overkill, I could use fewer offsets, but I haven't done any optimising yet.

Offset noise is a basic texture with a bump offset to blocks SS in a fake-3D mask (needs some more work).
    Everything else are scalar vectors to play around with the instances.

The substance graph is fairly simple, it basically serves a few purposes:
    Colour variation; snow mask; crack and ice normals; and a basic roughness map