Home Technical Talk

i need help learning the workflow for texturing assets

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
i'm not sure if this is the right place to post this but anyways.
i'm a newbie in 3d game assets creation, probably 5 or 6 months into it. i use blender coz that's like the cheapest option i can think of that has good features....i'm pretty comfortable with modelling a few objects but i'm not quite sure how to go about the texturing (if there is a particular way to go about it) i don't have a tablet so i can't paint, i have substance painter student licence but it seems my system's graphic card is not supported.
i don't know it there is a way to texture objects easily like stylized stuff without hand-painting or just any kind of texturing technique that would make game assets look good....i feel stuck and on the brink of giving up.
any help would be appreciated.

Replies

• Asura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Asura greentooth
    Intuos tablets are pretty do-able. They run around $100 but are often on sale for 25%-50%. Since substance is pretty heavy on your computer id recommend getting photoshop for hand painting. 

There is also an amazingly well made tutorial by Marc Brunet on Cubebrush that goes over making a stylized character using baked textures as the base and modifying it further in photoshop. https://cubebrush.co/mb?product_id=qt8ow . The Tut is $60 but it goes through everything.

Hope this helps :smile:
  • kingfeargod
  • Marshkin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Marshkin polycounter lvl 9
    This may also be of interest to you https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L7ALfRw6I5I

It's a tutorial on doing hand painted textures in Blender directly. 

Tablets are amazing,but it is possible (thought slower) to do amazing hand painted work without it. You'll just need to probably create some macros to quickly adjust scale and opacity of your brush as you work.
    And get real comfortable with your mouse!