Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My first character sculpt - Chloé

Hi, I've been playing around with Zbrush for a few months now in my off hours, and Chloé is my first serious attempt at making a humanoid character.
However i have been working in the video game industry for a few years now mainly as an animator and mechanical environment modeler. and while i am proud of my current character. I cant help but notice that there is something off about it, especially the face I'm going for stylised proportions however i just cant seem to get it to look right, it suposed to be a young charcter but i keep ending up with something that looks old imo

I would greatly appreciate it if anyone would be kind enough to give me a few tips as to what i am doing wrong.
Before I started using zbrush my main 3d modeling software was (and still is) autodesk maya. so i have quite a bit of experience in this area. but character modeling has never been my strong suit.

Thank you,

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    Hello -

Part of it comes from experience and anatomy knowledge (and the simplification of it for a good stylised result), but another and non negligible part of the issues you are facing comes from the fact that Zbrush does not have an accurate viewport for perspective. (Now everytime this topic is raised there is always going to be a number of people arguing that the viewport is fine, but trust me : it isn't, period).

This is especially apparent when comparing your two screenshots - even though they are of the same model, they look like different faces. This happens because Zbrush tends to flatten/smooth forms a lot (and distort them too) - meaning that parts of the face that seem "frontal" when looking at the model head-on are actually slanted to the sides. Zbrush hides this, and therefore one won't pay attention to it. Whereas in a real 3d program you would instantly notice it.