Home Career & Education

Freelance Rates and Budgeting Tool

JEmerson
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
JEmerson polycounter lvl 7
I have seen a large number of threads recently on various websites inquiring about how to determine freelance rates for new artists. There is a lot of information available on the Wiki, and in general, regarding freelance work. I have been working on an excel workbook to help new freelancer's understand how to determine their hourly rates, estimate revenues and expenses, and create end of period reports. This has reached a point where I am comfortable sharing with the greater Polycount community. If you have any questions or concerns, you may reply here, message me, or contact me via email.

I have crafted this workbook as if for myself and/or a business for use in professional settings. For those interested, I am a full-time budget officer for a City, a consultant, and a freelancer. This is not the only tool I would use, but for those without funds and/or additional resources, this would be a great one to add to your list. This tool will be updated on an ongoing basis. It is simply a tool to help, it is not a full-fledged budgeting/accounting suite of software. It has been designed for a predominantly American user base, but is easily adaptable to other locales as necessary.

*EDIT*