Home Technical Talk

How do you articulate an .OBJ file? Wich program to use? (Newbie here)

gabrielhawk
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
gabrielhawk polycounter lvl 2
Hi everyone. I am a newbie to 3d modeling. I am an amateur artist and want to use 3d models as references for drawings.

I downloaded various .OBJ files, including this dragon: https://free3d.com/3d-model/alduin-dragon-rigged--76875.html
and I can import it into DAZ Studio, but I can't move it's parts. Is there a way I can articulate it? Like, move it's neck, legs, etc, so I can get into the position I want to draw? 

You can also see this wolf https://free3d.com/3d-model/wolf-rigged-and-game-ready-42808.html to see it's fully articulated with bones, etc, but I can't move anything. Am I using the wrong program?

I'm sorry if I am posting in the wrong Forum, but I searched for a Newbies section and couldn't find one :(

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    OBJ files don't contain any kind of rigging, so you'll likely have to manually do this in a program of your choice (Maya, Max, Blender, etc). 

I've not used to DAZ Studio, but this might be a place to start: http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/4/userguide/creating_content/rigging/tutorials/adding_bones_for_rigging/start
  • gabrielhawk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid said:
    OBJ files don't contain any kind of rigging, so you'll likely have to manually do this in a program of your choice (Maya, Max, Blender, etc). 

I've not used to DAZ Studio, but this might be a place to start: http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/public/software/dazstudio/4/userguide/creating_content/rigging/tutorials/adding_bones_for_rigging/start
    Hello, thank you for the quick reply! I didn't know about this Rigging thing. Now I think it'll help me a lot.
    What still bugs me is that the title of the file says it's already Rigged. Like the wolf: 

And also this dragon: