Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

The Fall of Arcadia

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Jim_Watson polycounter lvl 6
Hey y'all! 

This is my first time posting a new topic, so I hope that you enjoy the content. 

The goal for this project was to create a "pretty corner" for a game environment pipeline. This includes creating a material pipeline that works well with both hero and modular props using material attributes, complex materials for lighting effects and particles, and a spline system for pipes and vines. I also wanted to learn more about the proper ways to light a scene to evoke the emotions that I wanted. 

I implemented a material system for modular props that allowed me to paint masks in Painter, create all of my base materials in Designer, and then comp them together in Unreal using 3 Material Attributes and a Material Function that made it look wet wherever I vertex painted. Then I added various decals to add more wear and grime. For Hero Objects, I fully painted them in Substance Painter, then used 2 Material Attributes in Unreal to overlay extra wear on top, then added decals. 

The original concept is from Mike Garn. https://www.artstation.com/artwork/41v5L I then pushed it to encapsulate the elements I wanted. 

Modeled in Maya, sculpted in Zbrush, base materials made in Substance Designer and Zbrush, masks and hero objects painted in Substance Painter, maps baked in Marmoset, shaded, placed and rendered in Unreal Engine 4. 

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/rdaBE

Let me know what you think! 

Replies

• JAKEALEXDUN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JAKEALEXDUN polycounter lvl 3
    Its really really nice man! the only thing i could kinda say is its a little hard to tell what the focal point is, is it down the hall, the lamp, or the tv with the sun on it? this is easily fixed with dimming lights and such but hopefully this helped, i really like the rest :)