Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

I need your advice on my portfolio ! Is it the right time for me to look for job in the industry ?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Mestaty polycounter lvl 7
Hi everybody,

First things first, here is my new portfolio : https://www.artstation.com/artist/mestaty
I've put in glimpses of my work and my best models. If you want to see more you can go here, there (most but not all models by me), there (most of the oldest models are by me) and there (all model by me).

I am here to ask you your though on my portfolio, because I have a hard time judging my own work.
I am a freelance 3D modeler and I used to work a lot for one big client. It's been one year and some smaller contract helped me live but I am now at the edge of my bank account.

I have worked a lot on reproducing hi-tech devices in 3D, like drones and smartphone for quite big companies. But one downside is that now my portfolio mostly consist of smartphone and other "simple"/"unimpressive" objects. I got one feedback from a lead graph of a video game studio and he said "my portfolio was not suited for video game".

I tried a lot to improve my portfolio for the video game industry, but I have a really hard time working for myself, I am never satisfied with the result and keep stopping projects before they are finished. I think my biggest mistake was to not to find the guts to write on this forum about every project I started. The interest of some people could have give me the kind of push I needed to continue.

But I can't go back ^^ and right now the portfolio I linked you is the only thing I have (I am working on a demo reel but i find my model unimpressive) with some project (I will post them tomorrow) I still have a few week left to work on. But I have to choose, I am good enough right now for the 3D industry (games, movie, visuals...) or should I stop for now (and come back later) and look for a food work.