Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Dead Metal Punks game devlog. New Demo Available!

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
pasco295 polycounter lvl 4
Hello everyone,

I've just started my Masters in games design and I'm using it as a way to create a game within the year. I am opening this thread to show the art/gameplay development over the next year. I'm using this to hopefully get some useful feedback on the project and some interest in it as it evolves. 

If anyone has any experience in creating games as a solo developer I would love some insight into your project and how you've created it. Here's a bunch of questions that relate to the research I need.
First off, what methods did you use to plan out the fundamentals of the game?

What major difficulties have you encountered during the project that you think could be avoided?

What gameplay elements would advise to stay away from for a small game?

Did you use any time saving tricks in asset or concept creation? if so what where they?

What element of the project do you think takes the longest period of time? Could it be shortened in any way?

Links

Blog: http://paulscottmagamedesign.blogspot.co.uk/ - this is the main blog where everything will be researched and posted. Follow if you're interested in the research part of this project :)

Twitter: 
https://twitter.com/Pasco295

Artstation: https://www.artstation.com/artist/pasco295

Replies

• pasco295
    Offline / Send Message

Project Idea:

My initial idea is to create a 3D sidescroller game in Unreal 4 which uses aspects of 3D which I would like to expand my knowledge on (Mostly hard surface and environment). The current idea revolves around a heavy use of vehicles and fun looking environments. A similar game to it would be Heavy Weapon, but I feel that game lacks a lot of character in how it looks and feels and I want to expand on the features and ideas present in that type of game.