Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Learning/Improving Digital Painting (looking for critiques)

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
CharlesL polycounter lvl 4
To give some background: I'm not an artist (yay for my silly programmer art :P), but I when I'm developing games, my lack of artistic skill is really starting to hold things back. I want to improve as much as possible in a few months, so I'll try to post a drawing/painting every week.

Critiques are welcome, whether they're related to technique, composition, anatomy or whatever else you guys think of (if you can link to a resource or reference, that would be extra awesome :)).

My first painting to kick it off:

Replies

• CharlesL
    Offline / Send Message

Actually super happy with this one. It has plenty of flaws, but it's the most satisfied I've been with a drawing in well over a year.

• I can't figure out why the wrinkles look like garbage... will have to practice a bit more with those.
    • The eyes and hair definitely need work. All I did was draw the planes of the face (since that's all I really know). Will definitely have to work on that at some point, and the hair was kinda slapped on at the end.
    • The metal texture came out better than I was expecting, but it's still lacking.
    Next week, I'll probably start drawing with one or two colors, since the monochrome is getting old. As always, critiques are welcome :D 
  • CharlesL
    Offline / Send Message
    Hrm... tried something with color. Definitely too dark, but I'm not really happy with the colors at all :(

Gonna have to give it another shot next time.

• RN
    Offline / Send Message
    RN sublime tool
    You're right, it is too dark. You need to use a larger range of values.
    If that's a full moon then it's supposed to be very bright.

Here's some reading on lighting, might be useful:
    - http://www.itchy-animation.co.uk/light.htm
    - http://lowel.tiffen.com/edu/foundations_softlight.html