Home General Discussion

Becoming Character Artist... Kinda

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
r343guiltyspark polycounter lvl 2
Hey all, 2nd year average college joe here. I'd like to eventually land a job in the industry along the lines of character design (I have an obsession with Zbrush) in anything I can get any hands on. Movies. Games. Whatever. I have a decent understanding of Zbrush being self-taught, but I'm overall a pretty mediocre artist. Are there any jobs that realistically exist where I can work on Zbrush for characters of any sort? If so, do i need to adhere to a concept artist's specific designs and drawings? What steps need to be taken besides taking a ton of online courses and networking? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks y'all.

Replies

• Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    There are low end character jobs, but they aren't very fulfilling, and this stuff is increasingly outsourced. Example: tons of clothing for MMOs. Retopo and refinement of stuff from marvelous designer. Of course, there are also non AAA jobs in mobile. Here and there you'll need some ZB. But the games you work on may be less about originality than about monetization. It pays the bill but there's a good chance it's not very rewarding work.

I would recommend working on your art skills. Practice, practice, practice in every free minute. Focus your practice on attention to details, on efficient workflows, on translating drawn shapes into 3-dimensional volumes and on anatomy.