Home Technical Talk

UV problems and Xnormal

vertex
Offline / Send Message
26708 vertex
Hi, I'm new to this whole modeling thing, and I just recently resolved a problem about my edges coming out hard on my UV normal maps which people on this site have helped me solve. So I'm back with another issue where the UV normals for some of my model parts just aren't showing up on Xnormal at all when I generate the map. It's just sort of showing up blank like below.

I feel like it's most definitely a UV set/layout sort of problem since it works for one 'set' of UVs but the others just don't read. So I can't help but feel like I'm either missing a step here in the process or something else really simple.

If someone could help me out I would really appreciate it.

Replies

• Scruples
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Scruples polycounter lvl 10
    Xnormal doesn't support multiple UV sets/tiles, you would have to export a separate lowpoly for each one.
    It's also scant on information, shots of the uv's themselves & highpoly/lowpoly as well as the software you're using to author the models would be appropriate.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    26708 vertex
    Ah okay, sorry for the lack of information.
    I used UVlayout to unwrap the mesh and I am currently using Maya to model.

I'm only getting results for this one 'set' of low polys.

and for some reason I'm getting the blank thing as shown in the previous post for the others.

And I'm not exporting these as one set, I'm exporting all of them one by one and generating the maps one by one, but again, I'm only getting the normals for the low polys shown in the first image.
  • Scruples
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The way your UV's are mirrored won't work, but that's not causing this issue... When you look at the models in the 3d viewer in Xnormal is the highpoly/lowpoly overlapping correctly? Other than that I'm not sure, someone else might have to chime in.
    Options