Home General Discussion

Thinking of switching to environment art

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
PattyWhacker polycounter lvl 8
I'm having a bit of a dilemma here and it would awesome if I could get your input here. I've been focusing on character art for the past two years, but I'm wondering if I should change direction for environment art. A little over a year ago, I spoke with an art director at GDC and he was telling me about the limited amount of open positions available, the amount people competing for those positions, and that I should pursue environment art instead. Since I preferred to do character models, I did not take his advice and pursued character art anyway. After countlessly viewing others' portfolios and viewing several threads here at Polycount, I can see that the art director was not exaggerating about the competition. It seems as though 80% of the people here are character artists. Many of which are highly talented.