Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[CRIT] ArenaNet Art Internship submission

diglett
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
diglett polycounter lvl 2
I haven't submitted yet and would appreciate feedback.  I'm new to the 3D pipeline so please give advice, particularly on maximizing texture space if possible. thanks!

Replies

• Alemja
    Offline / Send Message
    Alemja hero character
    It's rather difficult to tell how to help with your textures without seeing the texture sheets. Generally to maximize texture space it is best to make things as symmetrical as possible. Areas that also don't have intricate details can be reduced in size in order to give more space to other areas, nobody cares if some wrinkles on a solid color stocking is a little blurry but they will for sure notice if a pedant or whatever with small details is blurry.

I would also work on material definition, the armor doesn't look like it is made out of metal currently.

I am also interested in your wireframes, you say you have 7500 triangles, and yet I'm not seeing where they are being used to help the silhouette.

If you provide more images, I will be able to give you even more feedback.
  • diglett
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the feedback on texturing, I think I just need more practice at it, I think I've got a solid handle on it's understanding now. My problem for the metal is within Marmoset.. In Substance Painter, the material looks great. I don't know why the metallic texture is not rendering correctly, still figuring that out : / Also, here is the cage, should I submit that as well? I see you are an alumni from the program. Congrats!

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    @diglett
    Post your texture sheets.

Dyou try clicking the "Invert" checkbox in the Metallic input?
  • diglett
    Offline / Send Message