Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

New around here and would love some feedback on my work.

vertex
Hello All,

I am new here at polycount. I'm finishing up my degree in Game Art, and I wanted to share some of what I've done with everyone to get some feedback and improve the quality of my work. I'd love any advice or critiques on anything I have posted. Everything I have posted I've done myself. I follow a typical game pipeline: High poly mesh, game res mesh, UV, bake, texture and then present. I do my modeling and UV's in Maya, texture work is done with Substance Painter/Designer, I do a real time render displayed in Sketchfab usually. And then final look in Photoshop. My most recent asset I've finished was a modified pistol. I combined it with a rifle grenade I finished previously and added a mini scene aesthetic to it. I'm primarily a hard surface modeler but I also enjoy doing character work, modeling is modeling after all. 

Here is a link to my artstation: http://jimistone.artstation.com/

Replies

• Noremac7777
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Texel density's a little jarring on the barrel; sharp pixels on the fittings make the rest of the barrel look worse, when really it's fine.

Personally I don't like the grenade thing very much, but I don't really know why. I Think the weathering feels inconsistent to me; fresh clean-looking metal&handle next to seriously worn paint.

Might just be this monitor, but the lighting's too dark to see much of anything on the Hospital piece. I'd probably go for one atmospheric shot, then some more 'showy' ones.

It's looking good to me overall though; I'm nitpicking flaws cos that what I think is useful :) Also I don't have and haven't had a graphics-based job of any kind, so certainly don't take my advice as gospel. For all I know it could be complete BS :pleased:

• jimirock13579
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jimirock13579 vertex
    Thank you!