Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Looking for feedback for my portfolio

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
markz100 polycounter lvl 5

Hi guys,

I am looking for feedback for my portfolio. I am a 3D Environment Artist trying to get my first job in the game industry. Not sure what my portfolio is lacking and if there is work I have that should be taken out. Been having a hard time getting noticed and would greatly appreciate the feedback.

My Portfolio can be found here: www.MarkWilliams3d.com

Thanks

Replies

• BagelHero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    Hey, not going into huge amounts of detail but some quick notes;
    • Looking promising overall. The first environment is cool. I would like to see more shots, or a flyaround/video.
    • Make a set out of Pirate island and present it properly. Maybe make a diorama out of it or something, like some piles of rope, the canon, the barrel, some bottles maybe and give it a stage (an alley? a dock? marketplace? side of a ship?). Make it look good and lived in. Two common props floating in midair are super boring and don't leave much of an impression at all.
    • The assault rifle is average at best, kinda a boring prop, and you want to be an environment artist. The model itself is alright, though the HP needs its edges loosened (I think that's actually a lot of what's making me feel that it's average, now that I'm looking, along with lack of material definition). I just don't think it's the best piece to show off your skills, and I personally would be focusing on another Environment piece You seem strong in that area. Unless you want to do weapons and props, in which case do a lot more of that and change your title :p
    I think at this point it's just a matter of doing more and more work, otherwise. Set some small environment projects for yourself and try to learn something new each time. Do a little more than is expected of you.