Home Contests & Challenges Archives Enlighten Contest

In need of deletion

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
EminentSun polycounter lvl 5
Hi, before I get into my vision and work on the challenge I feel its important to talk a bit about why I'm entering. In our spare time my friends and I develop video games, I generally serve as the level designer/ assistant artist making basic geometry so our main artist can work his 3D magic. Unity was my main tool for a very long time, but I have been using a hammer/UE4 combo for a little over a year now, so getting back to what I know will be very helpful. I haven't had the chance to really use unity 5 and will be effectively learning the tool for the first time (again). As snobby as it might sound, I really want the graphics card over any other prize (I have no use for a gaming laptop). As a level designer I need to be able to quickly move through and create large detailed scenes without performance issues or lowered settings, and while my R9 380 functions passably it is becoming more and more outpaced by more complex graphics and lighting, not to mention new games (Tomb Raider, Doom, Fallout 4).

My plan for The Courtyard is to dress it in that ultra-modern style that is very popular:

Some of the main issues I expect to face are; that this style is generally very square and clean and I am working in a circle, finding (likely) /making (a few basic) models to fit the theme, and creating a stylized look with the lighting and not just the models. Hope to get a big head start tonight as I am going on vacation in a few days.

Replies

• EminentSun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Almost forgot, any suggestions or criticisms are very welcome.
  • EminentSun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Update 1:
    • Started by removing excavation equipment pro

• Changed wall lighting to a whiter hue

• Began experimenting with materials

• Started a wood/metal theme on the ground with stone/concrete above