Home Technical Talk

Basic UV Unwrapping problems

polygon
Offline / Send Message
yukonwanderer polygon
Disclaimer - I'm a total noob. I tried my hand at unwrapping a silo sorta shape made with an extruded quadsphere.  Tried 2-3 different ways...none are really working. What am I doing wrong?  I basically made seams, selected the area up to the seams, pelted then relaxed.  See images below: 
Try 2: 

Replies

• musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    Here's a request vid from my YT channel, I did a while back, with some tips and tricks:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pm3l4lRCKu0

• yukonwanderer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    yukonwanderer polygon
    @musashidan.   I can only laugh (craugh?) at my situation but I actually have moderate/severe hearing loss and it's pretty difficult for me to hear what you're saying a lot of the time, I rely on reading lips a lot in life, and the captions generated by youtube (which are usually kinda bad anyway - are even worse than normal for this video...the word "poop" has appeared a few times so far...)

Anyway,  long story short, I'm going to soldier through that video but I'm definitely missing a lot of back explanation.  Do you have any quick tips you could write down for me?  If not I understand, these are really noob questions so far - thanks for responding at all!
  • ElleKitty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ElleKitty polycounter lvl 3
    You dont really need to do the split on the top side. Just outline the circumference of the top side and of the bottom side with seams, and unwrap that. I havent looked too much into the new Peel tools so I dont know if this was done by AutoPeel, but it looks like that's what happened here. Some manual placement may be due, I can imagine that automatic methods would get confused on models like this.

Here is what I do to unwrap manually...
    1. Have an object that needs unwrapping