Home Quixel Megascans

Answered: New to Quixel Suite, question about uv seams

Hi there,

Im quite new to uv unwrapping and texturing with Quixel Suite. So i've been searching various forums on how to get rid of uv seams. I followed this thread http://polycount.com/discussion/140413/quixel-suite-and-seams which mentions something called "Seam termination", i can't find this, and maybe it's an old feature that was refactored into something different. However, since at this point, im mainly doing some rocks, i sometimes find it hard to place seams where they're not noticable. This ofcourse depends on the rock model, but nevertheless im looking for every trick there is to learn, in order to make seams as invisible as possible. What are my options?

Replies

• Synaesthesia
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Synaesthesia polycounter
    Hey Jonas!

The best method to eliminate seams right now is to utilize the color paint feature in 3DO to paint over seams by mimicking the colors near the seam you're attempting to remove. Try sampling the colors near the seam and paint them in randomly to match the texture being used in DDO. A future update will introduce triplanar projection, so this step will eventually become redundant. :)

Another method is to use a duplicate of the material causing the seam, and set the scale to +1 or -1, potentially even -2. Eliminate the mask in DynaMask by setting it to black, and then randomly paint in 3DO to reduce or outright eliminate the seam.
  • jonas_molgaard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ok, i heard the term triplanar projection a few times when browsing forums, and from what i read, it should be a very nice addition to the Quixel Suite tools. I look forward to that.

About the two other techniques.
    1) The painting randomly over seams, didn't do much for me unfortunately. I might have to experiment a bit more, but my feeble attemts was a failure. It still was way too visible to expose on an open surface