Home General Discussion

How do you deal with a client that doesn't pay?

rawrtoo
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
rawrtoo polycounter lvl 3
Hi guys,

Just want to check with all the artist around here, how do you deal with client that has promised to pay but stop replying email and no payment has been made.

At first, we have made agreements via email on the work and the payment to be paid after the completion.
However once I have submitted, not only I didn't get paid, but no respond from the client.

I have a few nice and honest client before so this is my first time to deal with client that went completely missing.

I would love to hear some advice.....thanks a lot!!

Replies

• pigart
    Offline / Send Message
    pigart polycounter lvl 6
    Don't send anything untill you have been fully paid. The exception to this is if you have already worked with your client before and fully trust him or if the client is a bigger studio.
  • Biomag
    Offline / Send Message
    Biomag sublime tool
    pigart said:
    Don't send anything untill you have been fully paid. The exception to this is if you have already worked with your client before and fully trust him or if the client is a bigger studio.

Please do this. If there is no other way you might have to sue the client, in this case getting legal advice might be necessary and it comes with financial risks.

Just a crash course for legal actions - keep in mind it varys from country to country (maybe even from state to state in places like the US).

Basically there are 2 things that will determine what law and jurisdiction are applyable to your case.
    1) What court is responsible to handle your case?