Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] DungeonCat Game

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Connecta polycounter lvl 7
Hello, Polycount!

As many of you probably have felt as well - sometimes making a game is more fun than playing one. That is why me and my friend, Oskar Selin, is working on a side project when the mood strikes. Since we are both artists (I'm an animator and Oskar is the 3d artist) we both have to learn and make the blueprinting as we go.
It is a Dungeon Crawl-ish (we think) game, where the core will be Gear/Loot (Character Customization - most likely not stat-based gear, more like cosmetics and perk-based), Co-op and a fun combat in the Souls-like style. So far we've been working on this for maybe a month on our spare time (on those days when we get the feel for it).
I got inspired by Wavewarrior's thread "A Delver's Fate"  (which happens to be a quite similar game) to make a similar blog-style thread to keep the progress stored somwhere.

Our overall plan with this game is to make whatever we feel like, in a tempo we feel like. What we know we want currently is some kind of Hub where you can show off your gear, find a party and choose dungeon. We want to make the good loot kind of hard to get, we got some ideas as to how we'll achieve this - but we want the feeling that if you see someone with a cool looking weapon/cloak/whatever you'll know that that player is really good (kind of like when WoW actually had rare items). And some way later plans is to have a surprisingly weird and Invoker-esque spells-system, but that's way into the future.

I wanted to do a system of 100% based root motion animation, but as the friendly tooltip in Unreal says, Root motion from Everything is "not suitable for network multiplayer setups." So we had to go for a 50/50 compromise with root motion on special moves and old-school capsule movement on the normal stuff (run walk etc).

So where are we now?