Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Pink Tree

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
KrisLW polycounter lvl 5
Hello everyone! I've always been completely fascinated by fantasy landscapes, so I decided to finally take the plunge with UE4 and make a complete scene. I've poked and prodded at various parts of UDK (back when the Dungeon Defenders Development Kit was released) and never made it very far, and then when UE4 came out I've poked and prodded some more.

I recently came across this image, Pink Tree, by Laura Haapamaki: (This entire project started with Laura's generous permission)

This will be my first "real" environment in UE4. (Although I've been doing 3D in general for ~10 years or so.) Here is my very basic quick-pass at, well, getting started. I was unsure how to begin a scene like this, so, I just dove in :smiley: 

I realize I'm not very good at following my reference - although quite honestly, for this project, I am more focused on the assets themselves and creating a playable environment since this scope of work is still new to me. Also, I'm using a 21:9 monitor that is doing me absolutely no favors in maintaining aspect ratio and spacing of the assets in comparison to the original scene  :s

I've created everything in the scene from scratch, aside from the skydome (which is just stock UE4.) All materials are procedural at this point. My "glowing" water shader leaves much to be desired, and the waterfalls are just placeholders for the moment - they will eventually be switched out - or at least masked with some, hopefully, more robust particles. The shape of my tree trunk is completely wrong. Also, the ground textures have normal maps, I haven't plugged them into my actual material yet.