Home General Discussion

re going rate for outsourcing in china/india

Ruz
polycount lvl 666
Offline / Send Message
Ruz polycount lvl 666
it did occur to me that i am getting less work these days since I am being undercut by outsourcing companies
mainly from china and india. Nothing against that, just wondering how much they are charging so I know what i am competing with. Here In the UK the daily rate can vary from 100 to 200 pounds a day. some folks may get to charge up to 250 a day but I never have.
I can either knock my prices right down to compete( which i doubt I can) or  go an get a job in tesco :)

Replies

• Kevin Albers
    Offline / Send Message
    Kevin Albers polycounter lvl 18
    The day rate for decent outsource studios in China and India is not below the 100 pounds you mention. As an outsource manager, my guess is that people are mostly looking for groups of people (i.e. outsource studios) to do work, as opposed to individual contractors. Therefore I don't think you need to lower your prices to below 100 pounds a day. Instead, maybe look around to join a distributed outsource team, or look for a gig at a studio (either a game studio or an outsource studio).

Good luck!
  • VelvetElvis
    Offline / Send Message
    VelvetElvis polycounter lvl 12
    The day rate for decent outsource studios in China and India is not below the 100 pounds you mention. As an outsource manager, my guess is that people are mostly looking for groups of people (i.e. outsource studios) to do work, as opposed to individual contractors. Therefore I don't think you need to lower your prices to below 100 pounds a day. Instead, maybe look around to join a distributed outsource team, or look for a gig at a studio (either a game studio or an outsource studio).

Good luck!