Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My Gears of War environment

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
AXEL polycounter lvl 6
Hello, 
I'm new here. And this looks like a cool place to be ;)
Anyway I'm currently making a Gears of War environment in UE4 based on this concept below by John Liberto.

I think I've seen this level in the game, could someone remind me what it's called ?

Here are some pieces I've done so far

Since I've been using ZBrush for only 2,5 months this piece is giving me problems
Here is my attempt

And here is the insanely good reference

What's the best way to learn to do realistic damage and scratches in ZBrush ?
Any feedback welcome ! :)

Replies

• Jack M.
    Offline / Send Message
    Jack M. interpolator
    What I would use is lots of orbs cracks brushes to do that kind of damage. Although I wouldn't exactly call that realistic damage, it is very interesting.

Ultimately you really just need to analyze what makes Kevin Johnstone's work the way it is.

The first thing that comes to mind for me is long thin gouges. That's a large part of the look of the mesh. The metal also has a lot of dents in it but not uniformly so over the entire mesh. The main part of the door has no dents while the frame does. This gives the feeling that the frame was made to be hollow to save money on manufacturing. These are some things you need to think of and analyze in order to replicate the mesh. 

That said you can also think about what's lacking there or what can be improved. For example I think there isn't enough difference between the metal damage and concrete damage to give each it's own identity. The concrete is also very obviously mirrored and it's a little off-putting.

Hope that helps :smile: 
  • AXEL
    Offline / Send Message
    AXEL polycounter lvl 6
    Hey Jack,
    Thank you very much for everything.