Home Technical Talk

Posing/Gesture in Zbrush, reposing after retop

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
jengy polycounter lvl 12
Hi guys,

Just wanted to get an opinion about a workflow process I'm considering.
I'm somewhat new to Zbrush and I'm modeling a character.
The animator requested that I pose this character in a very straight, stiff pose. 

My concerns are that if I sculpt in Zbrush with this pose, it will be very difficult to tell if I am getting the gesture and silhouette of the character correctly. This particular animal isn't normally positioned the way the animator wants me to position him; the position he wants it in is purely to make rigging and skinning easier., which is definitely a burden I do not want the animator to have.

This is the workflow I am considering to compromise for our differences:
- Sculpt character in natural pose.
- Topogun
- Bake all maps
- Move model in Maya with placeholder bones and skinning into stiffer, easier to rig position.

I wanted to know what everyone's thoughts and considerations are for this situation.
I recently saw a great video by a guy at Riot who commented that it was important for the sculptor to get the gesture correctly, and that reposing a character for technical artists after sculpting is OK.

Thanks all for your time!

Replies

• rodpv
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rodpv polycounter lvl 10
    Hi Jengy.
    First of all: I hear ya! I have a traditional and clay background. I spent hundreds of hours in doing gesture drawing from the Nicolaides Natural way to draw book.

To me gesture isn't only fundamental but it's the overall purpose of a piece.
    It's the skeleton, the pillar and what gives meaning and direction.
    Now, everything had to be re-evaluated two years ago when I transitioned to 3d modeling for production. And here's the suggestion I'd like to share.

As 3d modelers/artists at our place we become more artesans/craftsmen than artist.