Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Critique for my first portfolio piece

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Melk0r polycounter lvl 4

Hello,

This is my first post on polycount

I am currently in my last year in uni and I have decided to start working on my portfolio so for my first piece I decided to create a Rohirrim Shield.
So I would love to get some critique and feedback before uplaoding it.

Thank you for your time.

The horse drawing on the shield was drawn by my friend

http://imgur.com/a/JEmbB

Replies

• Doxturtle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Doxturtle polycounter lvl 8
    What are the loops on the top and bottom planks used for?

It might be good to add some AO or paint some grunge around the area where the metal guard at the front meets the painted wood, at the moment it looks kind of floaty. 
  • Melk0r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Melk0r polycounter lvl 4
    The loops are to give the planks the round shape do you think it could have been achieved in a better way?
  • 3dReaper
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    3dReaper polycounter lvl 4
    Looks good overall.

Suggestions for improvements:

Add more geo on the outer metal band, a bit too low poly. I/we can see the actual geometry and where each new edge loop begins. Just smooth it out and make it more rounded.

The center band metal material and the outer band metal material to me looks like they should be identical.

The back side of the shield looks very plain. Think about adding another piece for the user's arm, an arm strap plus the already existing grip. Perhaps also add a leather cushion for padding.

The horse paint does not really stand out much. Perhaps consider using alternate shades, or more vibrance.

Consider adding scratches and gouges on the wood.

The one thing that stands out the most would be the nails/bolts on the outer band. There are some nails that are on the seam in between each board. The nails should be on the actual boards.